What is "Damage History" Pre-Buy Advice

Hey COPA,

I was hoping to get some advice on a pre-buy I’m doing. A bit about me, I recently joined as a new member a month ago, I’m a new pilot with less than 100 hours under my belt. I have been in the process of searching for an aircraft to own and I’ve determined that an SR20 will do well for my mission after many SR20 vs SR22 discussions. I’m currently in the process of doing a pre-buy inspection, with the help of SavvyMX for N789RH.

My main question is what does “damage history” consist of and what should I expect be disclosed to me the buyer? The ad and the broker both have told me about the CAPS event for this aircraft and the repairs done at the cirrus factory are all well documented in the logs. You can view the ad here:

However, the plane has a new engine with just ~80hrs on it and in doing my due diligence savvy recommended I pull a planefax which also revealed the following:

The plane fax was the first time I found about this incident, had I not followed their advice I might not have known. Should this raise any red flags? I’m completely new to aircraft purchasing so I really don’t know if maybe its normal not to disclose this.

1. Is this considered “damage history” or an “accident” in the aviation world? Should I have expected them to disclose this to me in the ad and upon inquiring about the aircraft (a dozen or so emails, reviewing logs, conversations with the broker etc).

2. The incident report states the nose gear collapsed but I’m unable to find any maintenance records of the nose gear issue so its unclear to me if the nose gear was repaired/inspected or not. Should I be looking for something to cover this?

3. With the CAPS incident and the prop strike/nose gear incident should I be considering this as two accidents for the aircraft? What considerations should I make for this as a buyer?

Any other advice or help would be appreciated.

Adam,