Insurance

I am a student pilot looking to purchase a SR-20 either new or used in the next few months. My goal is to finish my training and earn my wings in this airplane.

My question deals with insurance for the airplane. I have been quoted around $10,500 for the first year and am wondering if this is normal?.

Does anyone have similiar experience with this? If so, could you refer me to a broker you worked with.

Thanks in advance!!!

In reply to:

I am a student pilot looking to purchase a SR-20 either new or used in the next few months. My goal is to finish my training and earn my wings in this airplane.

My question deals with insurance for the airplane. I have been quoted around $10,500 for the first year and am wondering if this is normal?.

Yes it is. The opinions about whether this is a good or bad thing varies extensively on these forums.

While most will agree the airplane is very easy to fly, it is still fairly slick and can get away from an inattentive pilot. Furthermore, the complexity and sophistication of the avionics can either lead pilots to distraction or to mistake the airplane’s potential for their own skills. In any of these cases, the results can be disasterous, and from an insurance company’s perspective, expensive.

However, the most important things you can do for your future insurance rates are:

1. Get a very good broker, one that is very familiar with the Cirrus insurance markets. Many have used JT Helms (jhelms@nationair.com) with very positive results.

2. Take the CPPP or other CSIP training regularly.

3. Get as much training in the Cirrus as possible.

4. Join COPA. $50 is pretty cheap for all of the info you will get from the Forums. The “Members Forum” is far more informative than the “Public Forum.”

5. Use the Search button above to look for insurance discussion. It is one of the most commonly discussed issues.

6. Be a very responsible pilot. The accidents you avoid will help your and everyone else’s rates.

Good luck