SR20 Insurance

The website crashed on last attempt to send - so forgive if this is a second posting…

I recently test flew an SR20. Nice plane. I’m close to a buy decision. Recently I contacted my insurance broker for a quote on the plane. The broker could only find 1 (one) insurance company who would quote this plane - and they wanted $6,000/yr!!! (I’m a 700 hr Grumman pilot).

The Cirrus rep indicated that many new owners are getting quotes in the $2K raange. I certainly would appreciate any leads as to where you folks are getting your insurance.

Thank you in advance for your help.

By the way … There is a group of Grumman owners who’ve formed an organization known as the American Yankee Association (AYA). Through this organization, Grumman owners are able to receive significant disccounts on insurance premiums. Something SR20 owners might wish to consider.

Thanks again.

I recently test flew an SR20. Nice plane. I’m close to a buy decision. Recently I contacted my insurance broker for a quote on the plane. The broker could only find 1 (one) insurance company who would quote this plane - and they wanted $6,000/yr!!! (I’m a 700 hr Grumman pilot).

It seems to me that you also need to be comparing
“apples with apples”.

That is: deductable, moving vrs not moving, amount of liability, theft etc. In canada I can tell you that glider insurance is in the process of going through the roof. (I am the volunteer CFI of the local gliding club.) We have a national group policy with now only one company interested. It is basically 2% of hull value if no accident history, not including liability. And this is based on the fact that our gliding season is only six months!

If I can get my fully loaded SR 20 or 22 insured for hull and 3 million liability for 6000 canadian I will be very happy. (1000 plus hours, no accidents, IFR rated and current)

If someone can get the same for 2K US I am interested!