Insurance - 2017 SR22T

Hello. I am a new private pilot with 70 hours in a Cessna 182 and have purchased a 2017 SR22T which I am taking delivery on in a few weeks. I will be completing transition training with a CISP and will be starting on my instrument rating in the Cirrus once it arrives. I wanted to reach out to get some advice on insurance. I have contacted a broker about running some quotes, and we have now received responses from several stating either that they will not write the policy and we have one quote back where they wrote it at a $700k hull value (I requested it at $900k), and the policy came in at $19k. My broker is telling me that this is likely my only option, and in my opinion it seems rather high.

Is this a common experience? Has anyone had any luck with a specific broker or carrier? Any other advice or feedback you could give me?

Thank you in advance!

A Broker is needed for all companies other than AVEMCO. I suggest you find a broker who is experienced in Cirrus Aircraft.

The broker goes to numerous underwriters to see which are willing to insure you and for how much. An experienced broker is truly necessary. Given the value of your plane and your low hours and lack of an instrument rating, it will be expensive for a while, but should rapidly come down as you gain hours.

I use Ryan Konrath, a COPA member and CPPP Instructor at Wings Insurance.

You can reach him at https://www.ryankonrath.com/

Jerry gave you good advice, shop around and have a broker familiar with Cirri. You can expect this no instrument rating, no time in type and low TT to be considered a fairly risky pilot to insure. No offense meant, just how they will view it.

Fly the wings off it this year and get an instrument rating. Your insurance will come down amazingly.

Best of luck.

Nic,