First plane before SR 20

I am a student pilot with approximately 30 hours. I need opinions on which plane to fly for the next 100-150 hours to best prepare me for the SR20. Is the SR20 too much airplane at 100-150 hours? Any ideas or suggestions?

Steve

I am a student pilot with approximately 30 hours. I need opinions on which plane to fly for the next 100-150 hours to best prepare me for the SR20.

No contest - get some time in a Grumman Tiger. It is somewhat less stable and lighter on the controls than the SR20, but has similar landing characteristics, and the speed is closer to the SR20 than a 172 for example.

Alternatively, if you can’t get time in a Tiger, try one of the higher performance PA-28 series, like a Cherokee 180 or an Arrow. Again the landing characteristics are closer to the SR20 than Cessnas.

I am a student pilot with approximately 30 hours. I need opinions on which plane to fly for the next 100-150 hours to best prepare me for the SR20. Is the SR20 too much airplane at 100-150 hours? Any ideas or suggestions?

Steve

Steve: I agree with everyone’s comments who follow, with one addition: the exact plane you fly is less important the the numbers of hours and type of experience you get. The really important thing is to get a lot of experience and do as much learning as possible. When your delivery of an SR20 is approaching, see if you can get a few hours in a rental SR20 and if not, try flying the tiger. (It is always advisable to get your first few bumps and grinds in someone else’s airplane.)

You seem as though you are in the market to buy a plane that you will sell in a couple of years when the Cirrus arrives. If this is the case, look at your needs and select a plane based on that.