SR20 for New Pilot?

I am a student pilot nearing my PPL. I am interested in buying an SR20. My flight instructor advises against it - says I should wait until I have 300 hours. He feels the speeds leave too little margin for error for a new pilot and is afraid I’d have a hard time staying ahead of the plane. And as a new pilot I would be harder on a new engine/airframe than an experienced pilot.

Can anyone offer any advice (ammunition) that would allow me to ease his concerns. I’d also appreciate any advice confirming his concerns. Could I limit myself to 130 kts to alleviate risk and still get good performance?

Also - any SR20 partnerships in the Raleigh-Durham area?

-Todd

Buy a million dollar life insurance policy on yourself and make him the beneficiary. That’ll ease his concerns…

(Seriously…your instructor is absolutely correct. Get yourself a Warrior or 172, get instrument rated, build time, then sell it and buy a high performance plane)

Listen to your instructor. Your instructor is probably the best judge of your
abilities and limitations at the present time.

If your instructor hasn’t flown in a Cirrus, you should ask him/her to do so and
see if he/she changes his mind.

Michael

I agree with Michael - but at the same time think a great deal of the decision process has to do with " your decision making process! "

I don’t know much about you - but if you are a methodical logical precise pilot and utilize those skills while flying, you might be just fine in an SR20. I also know that a 1999 plus Piper Archer w/dual 430 Garmins is a terrific learning and entry level platform with max speeds of 125 +/- to keep you from getting behind the airplane while developing your skills as a pilot.

Scott Prinz
998CD