begin w/ SR20

As a beginning pilot I am looking at airplanes. Any opinions on taking delivery of an SR20 with about 75 hours. I really like the plane, but I’m concerned it may be too much plane for me at this time.

David:
This subject has been covered with numerous discussions in the past but I believe many of the posts were on the member’s forum where only COPA members can participate.
The fact that you are asking the question tells me you are a conscientious pilot.
There are numerous theories used to answer your question.
I would submit that the answer varies from one person to the next. I personally found the Cirrus aircraft easier to fly than many models I have flown in the past. The systems are logical, the safety features are better and, in crosswinds, I think the plane is easier to fly than most trainers. But the real issue is training. If you learn to fly a Cirrus with an instructor who knows the plane well, I would submit that the plane would far from too much for you to handle. There are tons of examples of pilots who rapidly transition to VERY high performance airplanes early in their flying careers (military). Anyone can learn to fly any airplane if they are taght correctly and you have the right attitude. I see nothing about the Cirrus that departs from any of these principals and, in fact, I see many features that would make a Cirrus transition easier than most.
You may want to join COPA to get more information from the previous discussions on this subject.

I am sorry David. I just realized you already are a COPA member. Look at the past posts for other thoughts.