COPA Migration 2021 Flight Planning and Arrival

Hi folks,

To avoid the mix of non-related topics found in the main COPA Migration 2021 thread, I thought I’d open up a new thread for those wishing to get details for flying into KSDL or share any helpful advice.

Admin Edit:

COPA Migration 2021 - Arrial Info aka: Notice to Cirrus Pilots (NOTCP) here:
COPA Migratiaon 2021 NOTICE TO CIRRUS PILOTS.pdf (2.1 MB)

Here is the “One Page” for the event:

It appears the Scottsdale Airports has the main stuff we need to know for approach (frequencies, etc), and noise abatement procedures are here:

Are there any locals or frequent visitors to KSDL that have their own take on this or any further suggestions? Also, I’m a VFR pilot (working on IFR), so any VFR-related tips would be welcome as well!

As for FBOs, the prices of avgas are totally unreasonable for all of them IMO, but Ross Aviation had the lowest prices (Foreflight is quoting $6.03 per gallon, with another FBO at almost at $8/gal!), so I chose to park with them. I called up Ross, let them know of my expected arrival time, and they put my plane in their system with expected arrival/departure times, so I’m good to go. They were quite nice/helpful on the phone, so I’m looking forward to parking with them.

They are having COPA event pilots park at the Ross Aviation South location on the southwest side of the airport at taxiway A4. This is apparently right next to Southwest Aero, where the Thursday maintenance class & barbecue will be held, so that’s convenient.

I received the following details about parking and how their addressing Migration parking/traffic:

• Hangar space is based on availability at the time of arrival.