Cirrus Insurance

My job at a small engineering company requires a lot of travel to out-of-the-way destinations within the eastern US - perfect for a GA airplane! We are interested in using a rental SR22 for a several months before making a decision to purchase an aircraft or not, i.e. “try before we buy”. The problem I am having regards insurance. It appears the maximum non-owners liability insurance that can be purchased for a Cirrus SR22 is $1 million, per person limit of $200K and my employer as an additional named insured, but that just isn’t enough for a business ($3-5M seems more reasonable). I am an 1100 hr commercial pilot + CFII and willing to take the transition course and any other recommended currency training - but that does not seem to be the issue. Would love to hear from anyone that might have a similar experience or suggestions for obtaining higher liability limits. Thank you!

Douglas:

It is difficult to obtain personal non-owned for the limits you describe however it may be possible for the company to obtain a corporate non-owned liability policy for their exposure.

Feel free to call me at the office on Wednesday if you want to discuss further. 952-890-1124

If Justin can’t do it, no one can. He is a fantastic agent. He charges me too much, but I understand why. [:P][;)]

Thanks Joe! Speaking of charging too much when are you going to buy another aircraft? Christmas is nearly upon us and the kids stockings are a little bare.

I tried, but the deal on my sale fell through. Back to the drawing board. Hopefully the dealer gets mine sold soon so I can get the other one purchased…

From what I have read there isn’t anyway to get more then $1M coverage. You may be able to get an Umbrella Insurance policy that would give you more coverage.

That is not true. For the last few years, I have had the option of increasing to $2M for a slightly higher premium. You should consult an expert like Justin Wulf (my agent) agent or Dave McCoy.