Trying to decide on platform to purchase. Any SR20 owners in KCHO?

I am getting mixed feedback from my instructor, friends and, of course, brokers on various platforms. The ones I am looking at are the Diamond DA40, Piper Archer iii and the SR20. Looking for used, ~2000-2003, steam gage is ok but I’d like WAAS and a decent autopilot. I plan on flying for business but stick to east coast and probably light travel. All in all, maybe 4-6 hours a month. I am a low-time pilot – 180 hours to date, just got my instrument in a Cessna 182 in April.

The thing I need to know more about is how I cut through the noise re: safety and costs (maintenance and insurance). I am sure this is a topic that has come up here 100 times! SO sorry for bringing it up again. :slight_smile:

Anyone in Charlottesville I can buy coffee for and talk about the platform? And, any good info on costs would also go a long way. Again, thank you for your time!

Best,
MJP

There is a great article in “The Aviation Consumer” December 2013 issue on the Cirrus SR20 if you can find a copy that talks extensively about the SR20.

I had an SR20 (I loved that plane) as a low time pilot and found the plane fit well with my capabilities. I took the plane to Colorado, landed at Leadville, took a trip to Alaska, etc. The SR20 is a very useful plane that can do a lot for less costs. You will sacrifice speed vs. an SR22----but for a low time pilot that might not be so bad, you just need to know how to manage and operate the plane and know its capabilities and limitations. Training and studying over the POH will accomplish that.

Costs were fairly reasonable, my most expensive annual was $4200. I usually averaged a fuel burn of just over 8GPH.

If you have any questions you would like to discuss PM me your phone number and we can talk on the phone.