Looking to purchase an SR22 need some help

Hi Everyone

Here is my story. I am an instrument rated pilot. I have just over 560 hours in the last five years. I have been looking at moving up into a twin Cessna but when I looked at the operating cost, I got kind of shied away plus the type of flying I do, an aircraft like this would make more sense. The more I look at the SR22 the more I keep falling in love with it.

The wife and I do a few long trips per year but mostly short trips like just over 50-75 nm. I currently fly an Archer. Would an SR22 be a good fit for me? I am looking at some 2007.

People keep telling me that the longevity of this composite plane is questionable. Any help at would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tyrone

Tyrone,

Prepare to be bombarded! The folks here will give you all kinds of stats that will help you decide.

My 2 cents -

Don’t listen to non Cirrus owners. There is too much false information out there.

The SR22 is a very capable plane. PLEASE go fly one and have your wife sit in it. The cockpit is very wide and so comfortable that I think she will make the decision for you!

Living in Canada you might want to be sure the plane has ice protection

It is by no means perfect but I feel it is the best plane available in it’s category.

Now all the Data guys will give you the real numbers. I say buy the Cirrus! [;)]

Oh, and re-join COPA!