Cirrus ride

I am looking at purchasing a Cirrus in the next 6 to 12 months, most likely used based on my budget. But, I have never flown in a Cirrus, but have loved the look, the displays and avionics. Before I really start to dig into the buying process, I would like to get into a plane and fly it where I am based for work. I am an F/A-18 pilot, based up in China Lake, California and I hold a Multi Comm Inst rating, but have not been in light civil in a very long time. I am just starting the research and poking around, so I am not sure on how to go about getting an hour or so up here. I do want to fly here, in that it is a bit of altitude and it gets crazy hot, so I want to make sure the SR-20 has the power to operate out here in the summer. Please respond to me, and we can trade info and move forward from there. Sometime in the next few weeks would be best before it cools down to the high 90s, yeah, here comes the fall. I will pay as I can for the help, so it can help me make a decision in the future. Thank you.

Matt

I wish I still had a Cirrus! It would be fun to fly with you.

But I will opine having owned 3 SR22s. The 20 is used in Scottsdale as a trainer (my son earned his PPL in one), and though only 1,500 MSL we do get very high temps. It’s a pretty anemic airplane with any PAX aboard, though no doubt OK in the flatlands. But why? In the used market SR22s are available at most every price point, and all feature the same performance basically. Through the years steady improvements have been made in the panel, FIKI, etc. but they’re all going to outperform a 20. The cost advantage of the 20 is lost to the significant number of excellent used 22s at great prices.

Matt,

To be able to overfly the White House, spin by B mountain and look for a knife fight in the Panamint would bring me there in a heartbeat. Unfortunately, my bird is stuck in annual and will be there for another month.