SR22 Possible Purchase

Hi folks -

Please bear with me here, I’ve taken a pretty good look through the guest areas of the site but hopefully you all will be willing to answer some questions for someone who lives in the middle of nowhere and hasn’t even had the opportunity to fly a Cirrus -

I’m a Wyoming-based pilot with about 1,300 hrs, instrument-rated, currently own a Cherokee 235. My plane needs are evolving quickly, and I’ve decided it’s time to upgrade to something faster with more modern avionics - and I’m trying to decide whether an SR22 would fit the bill.

Basically, my normal mission is to fly myself plus one possibly one other person and quite a bit of gear from Wyoming either to TX or to FL and down into the Caribbean, 3 or 4 times per year. Given the long distances, obviously speed’s an issue. I’ve narrowed down my choices to a TR182, an F33A with tip tanks/turbonormalizer, or an SR22.

The SR22 certainly fits the bill avionics-wise, but it’s a little shy on both full-fuel useful load and range (a 235 spoils you like that, though you give up interior room and speed). The big advantage is the ‘chute for long overwater flights, as well as the avionics and the fact that they’re practically new. The lack of a turbo hurts around these parts, but obviously helps maintenance issues and given the additional horsepower doesn’t seem to limit the plane much when flying in an area with MEA’s in excess of 14k’.

So, for those of you with experience in SR22s, I’d very much appreciate your input on the following:

1. Assuming operation LOP, what are the real-world figures for fuel burn/TAS at 10-15,000’ that I could expect? Is 1,000 nm range, with reserves, realistic? If so, at what TAS?
  2. Is operating at 15,000’ realistic given time to climb there? What’s the real-world ROC at that level? I mean, I can fly my 235 there, but it flies like a marshmallow and takes forever to get there.
  3. What would be a real-world full-fuel payload?