SR20 or SR22 ??

For the same price, should I buy an older SR22 or a newer SR20??

I’m a new pilot (about to take my check ride) with less than 100 hours, but my dream plane is a Cirrus. Unfortuntely, I can’t afford a new one.

So, if you only had $350,000 to spend, would you get an older 20 or a less-older 22?

Youre going to get an overwhelming vote for the 22 on this site, but if your mission is mostly flying for fun, shorter flights, and you plan to stay out of the ice, I’d consider a 20…

90% of my flights are under 225 nm and I enjoy the lower cost of the 20…

YMMV

Disclaimer: I shop for 22’s almost daily… I just haven’t found the upgrade I can justify… YET.

Edited to add:

my 20 has 915lbs useful and cruises at 150kts at 9 or 10000 feet on 8.9 to 9.3 gph.

1 Like

First step = join COPA, then you can begin your research. The answer to your question will depend on your mission and has been discussed many, many times here. To grossly over-simplify, the 20 is generally fast enough, but climb and useful weight-limited compared to the 22. I chose an NA 22 (G2) in order to have occasional passengers and range and/or be able to meet IFR climb requirements here in the southwest (as well as climb out of higher density altitude without needing to go turbo). The 20 didn’t fit my mission in those respects. Good luck on your journey!

I agree with the posters above. If your mission can be accomplished with a SR20, they’re great airplanes and cost (relatively) less to maintain, insure and operate. Also, they hold their value about the same as SR22’s, so you can have the peace of mind that, if your mission changes, you’ll be able to get out of the SR20 without a huge loss.

No question a 22.

You dont need to buy a 20 in order to transition into a 22; Just rent one for 10 hrs with a CFI while you shop and that will be enough. The CFI time will count towards your 20hr insurance requirements.