SR 20 vs. SR22

I am a weekend pilot looking at the SR20. I understand the extra speed and power of an SR22, but it is out of my price range and seems to be more aircraft than I need. Yet, I observe the numbers, and SR22’s seem to be more popular and SR20 owners seem to be moving up to SR22s. Is buying an SR20 a mistake? I once owned a new Piper Tomahawk when they first came out, and although it met my initial needs, it was obviously a stepping stone. Now, I look at the SR20 as a replacement for my current Archer II and as plenty of airplane well into the future. Am I missing something, or can I truly expect to enjoy an SR20 for recreational use and not outgrow it?

In reply to:

I am a weekend pilot looking at the SR20. I understand the extra speed and power of an SR22, but it is out of my price range and seems to be more aircraft than I need. Yet, I observe the numbers, and SR22’s seem to be more popular and SR20 owners seem to be moving up to SR22s. Is buying an SR20 a mistake? I once owned a new Piper Tomahawk when they first came out, and although it met my initial needs, it was obviously a stepping stone. Now, I look at the SR20 as a replacement for my current Archer II and as plenty of airplane well into the future. Am I missing something, or can I truly expect to enjoy an SR20 for recreational use and not outgrow it?

Personally, the SR20 meets my needs pretty well. IMHO, the main operational advantages of the -22 are as follows:

• slightly increased payload. Check the numbers of REAL planes rather than the numbers listed in the ads, and see if the -20 will work okay for you.
  • much increased speed. You’ll have to decide whether the speed is worth the cost; that can only be answered by looking at your typical mission profile.
  • much increased climb rate. Can be very useful, especially in mountainous areas. In flatlands, this advantage is not quite as valuable.
  • ability to get de-ice. Again, depends on your mission profile.