Considering purchasing an SR20

I am a private pilot with low hours (about 50 total) and am considering purchasing an SR20, that I expect I will fly about 100hrs/year. I have a few questions:

1. What should I expect as my true cost of ownership (all in - i.e., ins., payments, etc.)?

2. What are individuals thoughts on which year to buy (balancing wanting as new as possible, but not to be hit with higher cost and depreciation).

3. Would I be better off buying it as a fractional purchase (although, much of my flying will be during the weeks where I’ll have to keep the plane out of town for multiple weekdays as a time)?

4. What else should I consider?

Thank you for your input.

Richard

I was in a similar position as yourself, just a few more hours.

1. There is a good excel spreadsheet out there somewhere (sorry I’m not more specific) that estimates ownership costs for a SR22. Not sure how the numbers are different for SR20.

2. I went with a 2006 SR22.

3. If you can find fractional ownership at your home base, that would be a great way to go to reduce costs. My nearest fractional opportunity was 75 miles away… kinda takes the utility out of travelling by plane with that kind of drive to the airport.

4. I would consider your typical mission. In my case, it was cross country trips with my wife and 2 young children. Not enough payload with an SR20.

Be happy to help out with any other questions.

Richard,

You ask a germane but FAQ. For a start, see the results of a search on the phrase “cost of ownership”.