Whether SR22 is right plane for me

I am a 52-year-old attorney in Austin with business interests in West Texas and the Panhandle. I am taking lessons now and intend to buy a plane in the spring. My motivation for flying is time (there isn’t good commercial service to these areas, and I don’t have time to drive). Most flights would be in the 300-400 mile range.
I have been studying plane options and talking to friends who are pilots. I sure like what I have learned about the SR22. Here is my question: would a used SR22 be a good plane for me to buy, or is it too much plane for a new pilot? I would fly at least 50 hours in a Cessna 182 after finishing my license before buying the SR22.
I sure appreciate your thoughts and suggestions. Thanks

Monte:
I transitioned into the SR22 from 172s and 182s and with a new instrument rating. The flying part came easier than learning the new avionics - but I came from all steam gauge panels and had zero glass panel experience.
Mark