Looking for Advice

I am a new old pilot. Earned my PPL in July this year at 55 years old. Starting work on my IFR now with 125 hours and landed a dream job with Hangarbot selling their product nationwide. I get paid to fly around and talk aviation and our cool product. I’ve been looking at aircraft since before obtaining my PPL but now it is a serious search. I have flown a 172 and 182 to this point. My mission requirements are going to be mixed but some will be long cross country to events to represent the company. It will mostly be by myself in the plane but I want to be able to go place with friends on personal time. I am 6 Ft tall and 180 pounds. May be able to trade or work deals for upgrades with hangabot products. I have seen numerous Sr20 and SR22 aircraft that look like they would work but am looking for good advice on what to avoid etc on my first purchase. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hi John and Welcome to COPA!
You’ve come to the right place. You will get lots of information from thousands of experienced Cirrus pilots.

Let me preface that I am not an expert, nor did I stay at Holiday Inn Express last night…

When you say “long cross country”, do you mean 3 or 4 hours , or New York to California?
If you are going to be doing the long Cross countries you should at least have inadvertent ice protection which means 2004 or later SR 22. If you want certified Flight Into Known Ice (FIKI), I think you will have to go with a G3 or later (2009?). I also recommend that you get your Instrument Rating too.

I used Savvy Prebuy when I bought my plane. I am not an expert on planes so it was nice to have their help.

Finally, I highly recommend that you join COPA. Most members don’t monitor the guest section. You will find a ton of information over here!

Good Luck

Oh, and be sure to change your name in your profile. Our terms of use require members to use their real name, not a handle. :+1:

2 Likes