Training Help!!!!!

Hey guys,
I am a soon to be student pilot. I have wanted to get my license for a while now but never had the time. I just signed up to do my whole private course in an Sr-20. If things start off well I am going to order a new plane too. I was just hoping for some tips or any general advice you could offer for a new pilot starting out in the Cirrus.
Thanks,
Chris

The best advice is become a COPA member. The stuff on the member side is a treasure trove to a new or seasoned pilot.

Congratulations and we hope we can welcome you to the pilot fraternity in a few short hours. Agree that joining COPA is an excellent idea. My only serious advice is that you stick with it thru to your private and beyond. I recently heard a statistic about pilot starts vs completions - i.e. pilots that start but don’t complete their training. While I don’t recall the exact statistics, I do recall that it is a small percentage that start and see it through to their private license. So if you can do this, you will join an elite group. More so if you go on to get your IFR and Commercial. So stay the course and fly consistantly - two to three times a week if you can - and don’t take your eye off the prize!!! And what better aircraft to learn in than a Cirrus! - count yourself very fortunate!!!

And Good Luck!!

Welcome!
You will be at a real advanage to learn in a Cirrus, compared to coming up through Cessnas, Pipers, Champs, etc. Having done those planes one almost has to learn to fly over again, but starting in a Cirrus you’ll be way ahead. Be sure your instructor is well experienced in the Cirrus, preferably Cirrus trained instructor. Read, study, and read and study some more. For every hour in the air you need ten on the ground. Of course learn all the regs and basic private pilot information, but memorize the pilots operating handbook for the Cirrus, and get the Garmin trainer (download free from Garmin. com) and use it going through the Garmin manual.