How is the SR22 wing attached to the fusalodge

Could anyone tell me how the wings are attached to the SR22? Are they bolted on or are they bonded on in some way. My question relates to a situation that the aircraft incurs wing damage that cannot be repaired and thus a new wing is needed.

Thanks in advance.

Frank

In reply to:

Could anyone tell me how the wings are attached to the SR22? Are they bolted on or are they bonded on in some way. My question relates to a situation that the aircraft incurs wing damage that cannot be repaired and thus a new wing is needed.
Thanks in advance.Frank

Frank: I’m no expert, but I am pretty sure that structurally, they are bolted to the fuselage. The fairings, non-structural parts, are bonded or glued.

But your main concern is, “Are the wings repairable?” The answer is an unqualified yes. Several SR2Xs have sustained damage to the wings (off airport landings, runway signs, etc.) and been repaired and returned to service.

Frank:

The Cirrus wing is a single structure incorporating both wings. This photo is of the first Cirrus to have the parachute deployed by an owner. You can see the slot where the spar carries through to the far side of the aircraft. The photo was taken at the Cirrrus factory a year ago. They apparently removed the wing for repairs and transportation, although I don’t believe there was a lot of wing damage. This is more of a production than in an aircraft where each wing can be simply unbolted, but it’s obviously doable…'cause they did it.

The aircraft is now repaired and flying.

Regards,

Tim

In reply to:

The answer is an unqualified yes. Several SR2Xs have sustained damage to the wings (off airport landings, runway signs, etc.)…

As well as a big A$$ed bird strike. [:)]

Tim,

Thanks for the great photo! I had heard that this could not be done. A picture is worth a 1000 words.

Frank