Fractional Ownership

Hello all,

I am new to COPA, but I have been interested in the Cirrus aircraft since my wife obtained her private pilots license. She is on her way to getting an Instrument Rating and after that we hope to have some sort of personal aircraft to take trips in. Since I’m the finance guy in the family, I was wondering if any of you have had experience with fractional ownership programs for general aviation aircraft. There seem to be a few out there and, being new, I was not sure if the costs involved in fractional ownership outweigh the benefits versus starting a partnership. Any advice or personal experiences would be appreciated.

Regards,

Jim

Very good article in the upcoming issue of Aviation Consumer. If you subscribe, you can get an early look on their internet version.

Net net, good option, not cheap.

Andy

There’s a company based in the Atlanta area, Airshares Elite (www.airshareselite.com), which has something like 25 SR22’s on order which will be sold in fractions. They and others are looking to expand this concept to other areas.

With Airshares, the cost is something like: $50,000 for 1/8 ownership (75 hours/year), $500/mo for ALL hard costs (maintenance, insurance, etc. is paid by Airshares – the monthly you pay is fixed), and actual usage costs (maybe $55/hour for fuel/oil). They will keep a plane for four years, then sell it (so you can cash out if you want), and you can buy into a brand new airplane. Cool setup. Even cooler is you can reserve it online or by phone and when you get to their base a plane is ready (might be yours, or it might be another if yours is out on a trip), washed and stocked with your favorite snacks – just like if you fly on a fractional jet.