Considering SR22

Hi All - Newbie here,

I am considering an SR22 and wanted to see if it would fit my mission.
Budget of 175 to 250K
I will be based in Wyoming at 46U - 5600’ - 5800’ runway with surrounding mountains at 13K.
I will be doing about 6 trips per year to Charlotte NC for business. 1700 sm.
Wife and dog. -330lbs of mammals plus some luggage.
Many shorter trips east and west for pleasure.
Approx. 150 hrs. per year.

I know Turbo would be ideal but don’t think the wife (and Dog) will be crazy about life in the flight levels.
Wondering how a NA SR22 will perform at summer DAs of 10,000 + -

I have a ultimate goal of getting into a Malibu, but need a incremental plane to get IFR and gain some more flight time.
First thing after transition training will be IFR rating.
I also think I may find I like the SR22 enough to stay there.
If I do move up, I am wondering how well the older 22s are holding value these days.
I don’t want to loose too much if I upgrade in a year.
Before I get jumped on, I know an aircraft is not an investment!
Just would like to keep expenses under control. I hope to purchase a plane that will hold is value best, not deprecate significantly.

Most in my budget are also up for Chute repacks this year.
Are the G1 22 the same as the G1 20s and need to have fiberglass cut to repack the chute?
What is approximate cost of Repack?

Any input on fitting my mission or holding value for a year would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Bob,

Forum rules require the use of your full name.

In terms of your questions these have been discussed multiple times on the member side. Very few people spend any time on the Guest Forum

If you join COPA you can search the Forums to numerous posts that answer your questions and you can partake of a humongous body of Cirrus knowledge.

Hi Bob! Welcome to COPA!!

I see you joined, would you like this post moved to the Cirrus Flying category, or do you plan to create a new post?