Considering a SR20

Hello -

I’m a 250hr Instrument pilot ready to purchase an airplane. I’ve been reading the forums for a while now and thought I’d just post my question directly.

I currently live in Carlsbad, CA (CRQ) and work in Santa Monica, CA (SMO) about 90 miles away. The commute by car is killing me and I’m ready to buy an aircraft, live the dream and commute to work by plane :slight_smile:

I’ve been attracted to the Cirrus largely due to the marketing hype and pretty pictures, but based on the owner-posts in the forums, it seems like most people love their airplane.

Given this flight as my primary mission, round-trip’ing probably 3-4 days per week - I’d like to know: is the SR20 a reasonable aircraft for me to consider? I’ve never owned an aircraft and am not really sure where to start learning about the process.

Looking forward to the replies!

In reply to:

Hello -
I’m a 250hr Instrument pilot ready to purchase an airplane. I’ve been reading the forums for a while now and thought I’d just post my question directly.
I currently live in Carlsbad, CA (CRQ) and work in Santa Monica, CA (SMO) about 90 miles away. The commute by car is killing me and I’m ready to buy an aircraft, live the dream and commute to work by plane :slight_smile:
I’ve been attracted to the Cirrus largely due to the marketing hype and pretty pictures, but based on the owner-posts in the forums, it seems like most people love their airplane.
Given this flight as my primary mission, round-trip’ing probably 3-4 days per week - I’d like to know: is the SR20 a reasonable aircraft for me to consider? I’ve never owned an aircraft and am not really sure where to start learning about the process.
Looking forward to the replies!

But first . . . you say that you have read, “the forums”. Do you mean the guest forums, or are you a COPA member and are referring to the “member forums”?
It’ll help in answering your questions.