Buying Advice (Turbo SR-22)

I’m a student pilot on the west coast. I’m trying to find the path to enjoying this passion, completing missions I’m interested in, maintaining high safety, and doing all of this in a financially reasonable manner (before my husband starts saying “no”, ha).

Recognizing everything is a trade off, I’m strongly considering doing a leaseback for the first few years (I train at Advantage Aviation in Palo Alto, California which has a strong rep and great mechanics). Plan to go to Lake Tahoe often (+6500ft). Thinking about the Turbo 182 vs the Turbo SR-22.

My CFI is excellent, with loads of experience, and cirrus certified trainer, but doesn’t has as much experience on helping folks to purchase aircraft.

I’d love to here any thoughts and advice as I consider my options. I’ve been reading online and understand some of the basic pros and cons (including the many strong feelings in multiple directions on leasebacks). Hoping for some personal perspectives and advice on how to find the right plane at the right price.

Thanks in advance!

Weston

Become a member ($95/yr.) and gain access to over one million posts containing every conceivable tidbit of Cirrus knowledge and expertise, as well as to the vast knowledge and experience of many dedicated members.

4 Likes

If I get a Cirrus, I certainly will. But for now still just exploring the idea.

1 Like

I did this exact path, on the west coast too (but in LA). What Tom said is right: pay the $95, consider it a cheap fee for a ton of pre-buy knowledge and analysis. Its well worth it. There are a ton of threads on this in the members forums.

I shared my full experience from being a student pilot onwards (flew 40 hours in a DA40 before acquiring my 22T and finishing my PPL + IR in it). I included my experience getting insurance. And talked about the very different challenges of ownership that a PPL track just won’t teach you (hangars, maintenance, etc.).