Which iPad should I buy?

I am about to start my flight training and am currently working through Ground School using the Sporty’s iPhone app. Ever since I started studying secionals, it is next to impossible without a larger display. I need an iPad from this point on. My question is, what iPad should I buy. I have read several articles and I am finding conflicting view points. I am working on buying an SR22 now so that is the cockpit I expect to be in. Thank you in advance for your feedback!

Bill, there are several great threads on the Members side discussing this choice. Time to re-join COPA!

There is also one in Marketplace here.

So you talked me into the membership and I just signed up. Thanks for the tip. Is there a trick to narrowing the search? Should I repost now in the member forum? Thanks for the direction.

Welcome back. Re the search, yeah, use the “and” conjunction thoughtfully to narrow the search. If you enter “choose ipad” you will get every thread that has “choose” or “ipad”, while if you enter “choose and ipad” you will only get threads that have both words in one or more posts.

Also, when you get the initial search results on the right, you can get to the advanced search by selecting “Show all…”

Try several keywords. Think about what someone posting a relevant post would use in his/her post. E.g., use “ipad and mini” and try “ipad and select”.

I have the 2nd generation iPad. Buy one with wi-fi + cellular. You won’t need an external gps with this unit when running fore flight. I have 16 gb. Last week when I started to upgrade to the new OS, I was informed I didn’t have enough memory. You may want to buy the 32 gb.

Keith, thank you much. Do you experience any latency with speeds with the 2nd gen? Some would say, get the new Air because of the faster processor. If the 2nd gen is as effective, I am fine with that. Thanks, Bill