SR22 vs. Cessna 182

I’m considering an airplane purchase (pilot-in-training right now) and have heard from more than one source that a Cessna 182 would be the route to go for a first airplane…

Is an SR22 too much of a “hotrod” for a beginner?

Would I even be able to find an insurer?

What about maintenance? (I’m in Oklahoma…)

Thanks for any suggestions —

I’m considering an airplane purchase (pilot-in-training right now) and have heard from more than one source that a Cessna 182 would be the route to go for a first airplane…

Patrick,

I was a student pilot when I began looking at Cirrus. Comparing the Cirrus to a Cessna is alot like comparing a new BMW M3 to a 1947 Desoto. I ordered an SR22, its simply the best plane on the planet (and a relative bagain compared to everything else in its peformance catagory.) Sure you’ll find alot of old timers pushing old timer airplanes. These are probably the same people who see no reason to upgrade their IBM PC1 (or see no use for a computer at all!)

If you order an SR22 today (highly recommended!)the wait is about a year. If you fly often enough, this should give you plenty of time to get your private and an instrument ticket. (I’ve logged about 300 hours in the past 5 months.) I just picked up my SR22. With an instrument rating, insurance was still hard to find and nearly $6k per year. No one would even write a $1M smooth policy. I think finding someone to insure a student pilot on an SR22 would be virtually impossible.

Still not wanting to fly the old junk thats generally out there for rent, after some research I bought a Socota Tobago. Its a modern design, wide cockpit, fixed gear plane with a similar sight picture to the Cirrus. At 180hp, its a decent performer but not a monster. In other words, a great plane to learn on while I waited for my SR22.