Advice on Getting My IFR Ticket....

I am a fairly low time pilot (110 hours) who hasn’t flown (with the exception of the demo ride when Cirrus was at RDU a couple of weekends ago) in almost 4 years! Now, I am spending lots of time dreaming of purchasing my own Cirrus in the next year and half (whild building some time to try to save some $$$ in insurance).

Obviously, I am going to do lots of recurrent training with an instructor as I get back into flying but am finding myself wanting to do some “arm chair” flying and training in the mean time. Gonna pick up MS FlightSim before too long to play with it, but wanted to get some recommendations on what I should start doing to work on my IFR ticket (which is something I am definitely going to do).

Am thinking about purchasing one of the DVD courses from King or Sporty’s but didn’t know (1) if the video training courses are any good or if one is better than the other and/or (2) I wasn’t sure if there was something better out there to use?

And another question, there aren’t any “rental Cirri” in the area here (RDU) (that I have found) but was thinking about possibly pursuing my IFR using a rental SR-20 or 22 (my job allows me to travel almost at will right now) so that I can (1) get my ticket and (2) build up time in type hoping to save some additional $$$ (and on top of that, the thought of just being around the beautiful machines makes me grin from ear to ear).

Any thoughts/comments are greatly appreciated…

A future cirrus owner, M(#) participant and CBA(#)er,
Brian

I just realized I didn’t search the archives before posting – will search them now but would still apprecaite any and all feedback and suggestions!

Brian,