Tipping is not a city in China

I have a question. As a rather new pilot, I am befuddled with the etiquette and strategy of tipping line staff at FBO’s. I wonder what peoples practices are. I get the feeling the reputation of GA pilots is as skinflints. What would be the effect if all Cirrus pilots were to invest $5-10 per flight in establishing a different reputation?

I was struck by a comment in an AvWeb column reminicing about days as a line boy, “The corporate guys were nice, they always tipped…”

-Curt

Curt,
I often tip a couple of bucks to the linefolk. They’re usually surprised and delighted!
It would be very cool if Cirrus pilots got the rep of being the friendly and appreciative pilots.

Cheers,
Roger

Guys:

Most of my flying is in and out of smaller airports where “self service” is the order of the day. Cushy FBOs with leather chairs, meeting rooms, and warm cookies are not part of my usual itenerary.

Could you more experienced “big city” folks explain that a little - who, where, how much are you tipping? I do like to share a little happiness where I can, but I sometimes feel a little confused by tipping etiquette.

Thanks,

Tim

Roger that! [;)]

I have the same habit… and I hope for the same outcome.

Mike.

Quick, attentive, happy to see you attitude, a little extra effort gets a tip just like in a restaurant. I was a line guy for awhile too. They are working for pennies and usually because they are trying to get into aviation.