SR22 g1/2 Maintainance Costs

Hi All, I am a student pilot and I am trying to decide between a few aircraft (SR22, 182, or a Mooney) for after I get my private cert. One thing that I’m getting very conflicting information on is how much I should expect maintenance to cost. I’m looking at a G2 or late G1 SR22. I’m seeing very conflicting numbers with some claiming $2k annuals, others reporting $5k with the occasional $10k, and one person who saw a $30k annual.

I’m expecting to fly around 100-200 hours per year. How much should I realistically expect to budget for maintenance (ignoring engine overhauls).

Early g1 numbers(sn 213), plan on a basic annual costing 3000. Airworthiness issues and other items to range on average 2-7 grand.
5000 on the low side and 10 grand on the high at annual.
For the most part, my plane doesn’t see the S.C. in between annuals, but there are times.

1 Like

I too have a G1 - serial 0063. The annual inspection is about $2700 + whatever has to be fixed + whatever I want fixed. I would say the average total annual over the last few years has run in the $6-7,000 range.

1 Like

You are considering three very different airplanes, it wold behoove you to identify your primary mission and take it from there, any one of those aircraft can surprise you with unexpected maintenance expenses, it’s an inherent risk of aircraft ownership.

There are numerous topics on COPA that discuss operating expenses, maintenance budgets and related aspects of aircraft ownership, please consider upgrading to a full COPA membership to avail yourself of the over 1.3 million posts on our forum and the advice of many experienced Cirrus Owner/operators.

2 Likes