SR20 versus Diamond DA40

Those of you trying to decide between buying an SR20 and a Diamond DA40 might be interested to read my little write-up at http://philip.greenspun.com/flying/plastic-airplaneshttp://philip.greenspun.com/flying/plastic-airplanes.

(I ended up buying the Diamond because I’m a very inexperienced pilot, my training was in a Diamond DA20, and I’m hooked on the superior visibility of Diamond aircraft. I’ve had the plane now for only about three calendar weeks and 30 flight hours but it seems to be very well made. My only real problem was a bad spark plug at 30 tach hours.)

Oh yes, I’ll be flying from Boston to Alaska and back June 3-October 15 so if you see 505WT or hear ATC trying to figure out what to call it (I usually say “Katana 505WT” to avoid a discussion and because nobody knows what a “Diamond Star” is), that will be me and the dog…

I’m sure you’re going to be very happy with the DA40. I was on the brink of buying one 1 year ago, but when I got my checkbook out they admitted the Austrian built planes (all they had then) weren’t going to have autopilots.

Diamond Aviation of San Carlos, CA (no corporate relationship) has just put a DA40 on their rental line, and it looks like a superb IFR trainer / time builder. One surprise today; I was going to tag along on a checkout, but when we ran the W&B we found that with full tanks, three trim but tall guys and our flight bags that we’d have to burn out 50 pounds of fuel before landing. I begged off the flight since they wanted to do touch&go’s. One factor in the limited useful load seems to be this airplane came in 85 pounds heavier than the sample plane in the POH.

By the way, the W&B was challenging for us gringos since all the data in the POH is in metric (and it was a “Mass and Balance”, technically a more correct description).