SR20: G2 vs G3

I’m a relatively new PPL who is now looking for his first plane. I’ve been looking at Cirrus aircraft for months now, and just about every Cirrus owner and pilot I’ve spoken to has suggested I come to this website and post my question, so here goes:

I’m considering a Cirrus SR20, either G2 or G3. There’s obvious cool features in the Garmin Perspective, but the market price differences between these make a quick jump of > $100k. What are compelling reasons you think I should get a G3 vs a G2?

For the sake of conversation, let’s exclude the slick features in the Garmin Perspective… I know I wouldn’t get synthetic vision, the blue button, etc in the Entegra. I’m more interested in things like airframe and/or engine performance, maintenance costs, major differences in safety, that sort of thing.

Thank you to everyone who helps me soon become plane owner!

Jason,

I am probably not the right guy to give you my thoughts as I have no real knowledge of SR20 G2 vs G3.

However, you are considering making a pretty large investment - I would guess at lease in excess of 150k. I cannot tell if you are already a member. If you are, I would suggest making this post in the Cirrus Flying forum. If you are not a member, all I can say is that I can’t imagine planning to spend this amount of money and not want to spend the $65.00 to join the organization. There are TONS more conversations going on behind the member “wall”.

I can’t count how many times people post that one little answer to something paid their member dues. I know I continue to get mine back many times over, year after year.

Thanks Barry. I had no clue there was a completely separate forum I couldn’t see. Great suggestion! I’ll join now. Thanks again!

1 Like

Great Jason, welcome to the club!

Wow, there’s a lot here. I had a feeling this question had likely been asked, and answered. I’ve got a lot of reading ot do now. Thanks again!