Operating Costs

I am a private pilot, instrument rated, with approximately 550 hours. I am toying with the idea of buying a SR22 but I am very concerned about its operating costs. I have owned for now 4 years a 2000 C172SP, which is doing very well and I can comfortably afford. Of course the purchase price and the annual insurance of a SR22 are much greater. But what about all other costs? Any thoughts? Thanks,

The Cessna will clearly be to operate. Lower fuel burn, less sophisticated avionics and less redundancy which means less to break. So the Cessna is a better deal from a cost perspective.
But, it is also true that you get what you pay for as well.

In reply to:

I am a private pilot, instrument rated, with approximately 550 hours. I am toying with the idea of buying a SR22 but I am very concerned about its operating costs. I have owned for now 4 years a 2000 C172SP, which is doing very well and I can comfortably afford. Of course the purchase price and the annual insurance of a SR22 are much greater. But what about all other costs? Any thoughts? Thanks,

If you are serious about your prospective investment, join the forum. This notion has been discussed ad nausium.
The SR22 has a 300 hp fuel injected engine burning more gas than a C-172, but moves along at 180 kts, with a very sophisticated electronics package.
Insurance is largely based upon hull value. You can buy a used Cirrus or a new one. The insurance cost will be reflected in your choice.
After that, all planes must be maintained with their related expenses.

Hi Fabrizio,

I’d suspect the annualized cost to operate an SR22 will be about double that of a 2000 C172.

Fuel is the cheapest thing you will have to think about.