Minimum Number of hours required for a vision jet insurance

What is the minimum number of flying hours required in a SR20 / 22 before one can get insurance for a vision jet?

1 Like

I transitioned at 400TT, 200 of which was in an SR22.

I will put 250h on my SF50 this year. Hopefully the rate will drop a bit next renewal.

4 Likes

Did you pay 2% hull in premium?

Zero.

I mean, there’s no •requirement• to have any SR time before shopping insurance for the SF50.

Now, if you mean total time, sure, Trent’s number is probably about as low as you can go. Ask a couple of brokers and discuss your qualifications.

Gowtham,

I was told 500 hours in SR22 is a good number for SF50 Insurance. I started training last year in SR20/22. Got my PPL end of March this year, took delivery of SR22NA in April, got my instrument rating end of July. Working on commercial now. I’m taking delivery of my SF50 next February.

Started this year at 70 hours. Currently at 370 hours and 130 more to go for 500 hour mark. Lots of flying this year and I love it!

Welcome to COPA and good luck with SF50.

2 Likes

Trent do you mind disclosing what year one was and the policy coverages?

Great American quoted us 85k with 800hrs TT and much of those in an SR22T. However age was the biggest factor, 19.

Our friends quote: Mid $40s for 3.35M hull on a 1,025 hour pilot with 925 retractable gear.

Just a couple of recent examples

Just the smallest hair under 2%. I am also 40, so age may be a factor, and having a great Insurance Agent (Travers).

I am up for renewal next month (650TT, 250TIT) so I will let you know how it goes.

2% of hull value for below 1,000 hours in year 1 is a decent ballpark.

Are you training with a cirrus flight school? It’s good that time spent flying as a student pilot counts.

You are doing commercial training too? Will that help in better training for a private pilot?

Sekhar,