Left Handed?

I’m a lefty and wonder how I would write stuff down while using the side stick. Any lefty pilots with insite here?

Jeff

In reply to:

I’m a lefty and wonder how I would write stuff down while using the side stick. Any lefty pilots with insite here?
Jeff

Jeff,

I’m a lefty pilot with about 1300 hours in Cirrus airplanes. The left-side stick was a minor issue exactly once.

Points to ponder:

1. You probably normally fly with your left hand, even with a normal yoke… you use your right hand for the throttle. Admittedly, it’s easier to hold a “normal” yoke with one’s right hand, though, when one has to write.

2. Most Cirrus pilots use the autopilot a lot - even when we choose to hand fly, it makes good sense to engage the autopilot when you have something to write down. I always do so. For the most part, I ‘write’ frequencies, headings and altitudes with my right index finger and thumb - by pushing buttons and twisting knobs on the panel; although I also write them on a knee pad the old-fashioned way.

3. Obviously, we need to hand fly for takeoffs and landings - but I’ve never needed to write anything down during those times.

The one time it was a minor issue was when I found myself circling over a downed Cessna, and was copying information being transmitted to me by the pilot on the ground. I needed to hand-fly AND write. I simply crossed my hands - held the stick with my right hand and wrote with my left. It was a little weird, but no big deal. For the other 1299.9 hours, it simply hasn’t come up.

Hope this helps…

Mike.