Instrument Rating: Doug Carmody

I’m a low time pilot and decided to get my I-tix before going out and buying a beloved SRXX. Anyone out there that can critique Doug Carmody as an instructor for low time pilots?

I got my IFR rating in Doug’s M20C on the 8th day following a week at 73J (known locally as “Frogmore”). Doug was a B737 & Fokker captain and check pilot with USAir. I believe he may have retired (early) by now. He has a wealth of knowledge and an easy-going style. Originally, he was going to accompany me on my winter 2002 delivery, but pilot duty beckoned that weekend. By now he’s probably got a few SR2X hours under his belt.

Doug’s pool house was just being completed while I was there, and it will be convenient to the airport; however, if you can get some wheels (even a bike) the town of Beaufort is beautiful–I’d highly recommend the Beaufort Inn B&B.

If you’d like another opinion, check with Whit Lord, who’s used him within the last year, and seemed to be well pleased. Doug is good company with a dry sense of humor and a bad sense of direction…tell him I said so! BTW, it’ll take him a week till he figures out how to pronounce your name…

–Michael

Michael is correct, Doug has worked extensively with me. I have had the pleasure of working with both Luke Lysen and Doug Carmody and would highly recommend either. I am surprised more Cirrus owners on the East Coast haven’t taken advantage of Doug’s training services. He is very comfortable with Cirrus planes and is very thorough. He has an interesting training module for the Garmin 430 that allows learning with ease. Doug is very bright and organized and has written his own training manuals.

I assure you that you will be extremely pleased with Doug and I could not recommend him higher. There is great comfort knowing that you are being trained by someone who has spend many hours in the left seat with a major commercial airline.