I am sure Cirrus enthusiast are tired of hearing this! Help

I am a private pilot with just over 100 hours. I currently fly a Diamond DA40 XLS. I love the plane but the feed back I constantly get (my wife) and even me is it is terribly uncomfortable and cramped. I have the opportunity to get checked out in a 2004 SR20 from a local FBO and it seems everywhere I read or anyone I spoke to states this is not a good idea for a low time non insturment rated pilot. I do believe the aircraft is only as safe as it’s PIC. I did take a discovery flight of sorts and the comfort for me and my passenger was 10 times what I am used to. I would love toi get checked out in this plane if everyone would just stop trying to scare me away from it. My typical mission ranges from local dinner flights to short cross countries 200 to 300 NM. I am very conservative when it comes to weather etc. I would appreciate any feedback to ease my anxiety. It seems the performance on the DA 40 XLS is comparable to the SR20.

Jim

Add your statement to obtaining transition training from a Cirrus Standardized Instructor Pilot (CSIP) and I think you’ll find it very manageable. Don’t short cut the training with a very qualified CSIP though. My 18 year old son obtained his private in a Cessna, but immediately transitioned to the Cirrus SR22 and obtained his instrument ticket in it a few weeks back. In comparing the two, he felt the transition was pretty easy. He does understand the speed difference and margin of error is quite different. Again proper training will ingrain the right techniques. I also encourage you to join COPA and you will see there are many examples of pilots like yourself and some who bought the Cirrus to start the initial training.

Jim,