Alternators and Engines

I have been following this forum fairly closely and have noticed that the alternator and engine problems are getting a lot of attention. I am a low hour pilot without a deep understanding of the mechanics of an airplane. First I would like to know if several SR20s are having the same problems. Second, I want to know (in simple terms) what these problems mean for me if my SR20 is due to arrive in about five months. Will they have this all worked out by then? Is there any chance of switching to the Lycoming engine? Why was the Continental chosen in the first place?

I would like to hear from anybody with knowledge concerning these problems. I would also like to hear from any current SR20 owners that have any comments (good or bad) concerning the SR20.

I also have one other question on a different topic. Do owners choose their own tail number?

Thanks for any responses.

I also have one other question on a different topic. Do owners choose their own tail number?

Thanks for any responses.

If you select a specific N number, Cirrus will register the plane that way. However, you must first reserve it through the FAA. (You can go to AOPA’s web site to find out all about this.) It costs $10 per year for the reservation unless you are a manufacturer or airline. Once reserved, you just have to write the FAA annually (& pay another 10) until they (CD) build your plane. Once you reserve the N number, you have to notify CD and send them copies of the FAA paperwork. They take care of the rest.

If you do not reserve one through the FAA, CD will assign you one which will usually end with a CD.

Second, I want to know (in simple terms) what these problems mean for me if my SR20 is due to arrive in about five months. Will they have this all worked out by then?