ADS-B 2020 compliant?

Our family business just purchased a 2012 SR22T. I’m a low-time pilot who is just becoming familiar with the Cirrus, and in reading aviation magazine articles I wonder if it is compliant for the FAA 2020 mandate regarding ADS-B. Thanks for any insights,

Andrew

Andrew,

Congrats. Join COPA. All Cirrus Owners and Pilots should be members. There is lots of discussion on ADS-B in the member forums. Lots of other good safety, training and ownership discussions.

Come on in the water is fine.

Try putting your tail number in flightaware.com and then check the track log. If you have ADS-B, it should say that in the far right column.

thanks for tip on ads-b did not know that about flight aware. I have a 12 and it’s there . Don

Can you give more details as to where it is shown on flightaware? I am not seeing it for my plane which is a little concerning given the price I paid for it!

It was an option when I bought my 2012 so it is possible some may not have it installed.

The plane in your profile, N327AM, claims to be an SR22-G1, so it certainly didn’t come with ADS-B from the factory. If you look up your last flight in Flight Aware, under the Facility, you can see Chicago Center, not “Flightaware ADS-B”, so you don’t appear to be seen as an ADS-B target.

d

Not necessarily. Today Chicago center verified that my ADS-B was working, but FlightAware does not reflect that. I would not count on FlightAware.

Andy, you are correct. I just checked further back in one of my other flights and there was a time where Flightaware did in fact show me as ADS-B. I think this is more an issue with how Flightaware gets its feed and whether or not ATC is truely up to date on their side. My local approach control cannot see my ADS-B signal. The answer I got was “we don’t have the ability to see it”.

Bill