A few questions for /  Advice needed from Cirrus owners

Sorry to trouble anyone but I would greatly appreciate some experience shared and any advice given.

I am just beginning the process of getting my private pilot’s license as I have put off the idea until I had available time and money. I have a couple of specific questions. If anyone can answer it will be greatly appreciated.

I am looking to purchase a plane with a mission of cutting travel time down significantly for primarily what is now 4 to 10 hour driving trips, and of course allow me to travel much further at my own convenience etc.

1. I will be able to afford an aircraft in the neighborhood of $250-$400K. What year and model cirrus SR22 is there a major change/upgrade in? Is 2006 significantly more advanced than a 2004? Seems I read 2005 saw some major upgrades??

2. What are the usual average yearly operating cost? not considering a major overhaul or Chute repack.

3. Probably a dumb question, But if you deploy the CAPS system does insurance cover this the same as a crash?

4. Also about the insurance. I understand a new pilot would be extremely difficult to ensure but is it sound thinking to consider higher insurance acceptable and theoretically offset by the saved expense of not renting another plane to gain enough hours to reduce the insurance to more normal costs?

Thanks for any shared thoughts, advice or experiences.

1. Good 2006 are available in that range. Changes took place all along, but many were accomplished between '05 and '06.

Many others since, too, but the price tag is more painful.

1. $200/hr

2. Yes

3. IR or no? Insurance is expensive til you get one- maybe 1-2% of hull value…maybe more.

Do it!

Join COPA. It will give you access to search hundreds, maybe thousands, of similar threads with thoughtful answers. Best $65.00 you will spend in aviation.

No trouble at all - and welcome to the wonderful world of flying!