5 People in Cirrus SR20 G6 Perspective +

I’m planning to do a trip from Los Angeles (KRAL) to Las Vegas (KHND) in a 2018 Cirrus SR20 G6 rental. I currently am taking no bags in the plane as my family will bring suitcases in the car. Currently it is 4 people in the plane and 50 gallons fuel. The weights are as follows. Pilot (Me):170lbs Front Seat Passenger: 210, Rear Seat Passenger:130 and Second Rear Seat Passenger: 170, and 50 Gal fuel. This works and is within limits. The cg is a couple inches from aft, I’m new to Cirrus and it seems they have a bit more aft cg loading when loaded compared to other. Probably why it is very fast for its class as well as flush riveting on wings.
The issue is we’re trying to take a fifth person. They would also be 130lbs. If I drop fuel carried to 30 Gal, which is still very conservative with one hour reserve, I meet the weight requirements. But the cg is 0.4 inches of the aft limits.
Has anyone safely done 5 people, 2:45hr of fuel (30gal) and no baggage safely. If so let me know how it handles.
FYI: the picture that says out of balance the seat of 260 pounds is the 60/40 seat with two 130lb people.

Ignoring the “can I be a test pilot?” In a public forum question, the 60/40 seat is going to be very snug with 3 adults for that long of a flight. I hope these are all really good friends that like each other a lot…

I wouldn’t put 5 people in a SR20. The Kathryn’s Report writes itself.

3 Likes

It’s just math. Plane doesn’t care if 5 small people or 3 biggies. But I wouldn’t mess with envelope…

2 Likes

Your profile says student pilot. How are you planning on carrying passengers?

1 Like

The SR22 exists for a reason. Since you’re renting, why not rent one of those?

1 Like