WTC

Just thought I’d mention something that happened to me today, here in NYC. As everyone knows, today marked the second anniversary of 9/11. I remember the day well, as I was up on my roof watching the events unfold firsthand. I live downtown, maybe a mile from WTC. I heard the first plane fly over my building.

Being a pilot, I started to receive phone calls asking how a plane could hit the towers. We had our answer when the second plane hit.

I’ll not recount that day, but suffice it to say the seeing that south tower go down right there in from of me was a shock beyond description. TV in no way conveyed the way the city shook, the way the sound of that building collapsing reverberated throughout the city, and the odor of the acrid smoke that I will never forget.

Today I had to run downtown to Murray Street in Tribeca on an errand. I took the C train to Chambers and, unwittingly, when I emerged from the station, I found myself at the west side of Ground Zero. It was teeming with people and not 10 feet away from me was Rudy Giuliani, shaking hands and greeting firemen. I’d never really cared for Giuliani when he was mayor for reasons I don’t need to explain here, but on 9/11, he truly set the high bar with respect to the actions that day of our country’s public officials, including Bush.

It was purely coincidental that today I ended up at the site where the WTC once stood, but it was fitting and I was glad I was there. The huge gaping hole in the sky the towers left is something I’ve never gotten used to.

I walked west along the northern border of Ground Zero and stopped at a point where I could peer into the pit.

I’m not a religious person at all, but I said a prayer in my own way, to whomever was listening, for the people lost that day.

I’ll not comment here about what I think about TFRs or other inconveniences we, as pilots, experience. I just think it’s important we reflect and note what happened here two years ago.

Jeff Berlin