Transponder Issues & SBA fly in

This last Easter weekend, I had a chance to fly 2 round trips (shuttling kids) to/from SoCal and got several comments from ATC (VFR advisories) that they “ere not receiving my transponder”. I noticed that Steve Schultheis (N1645S) reported problems with his too. Steve’s comments beg several questions:

1. Is anyone else having problems with their transponders and ATC?

2. Is the signal received by ATC influenced by the specific code assigned? I hear an ATC fellow mutter something about “try this code … that one should show up” giving me the impression that some codes work better than others! That didn’t seems to pass the smell test, but I am not an engineer. Anybody?

3 Would the use of an ‘RCO’ for radar have an effect on the efficacy of the system?

RE: SBA fly in … the coming months look good for another fly in (attempt). Kevin is good at the logistics and hopefully the next one will actually have some people show up in other than a Plymouth Valiant!

BTW, the price of 100LL at Camarillo is 2.29! I met the guy that I think coordinates the fuel and adjacent soda machine (.50 for a 20oz bottle!) and he was laminating the recent price hike to $2.29. CMA has got to be one the bargins for 100LL. Also check out AirNav.com for fuel prices. I found it very helpful now that gas prices are going higher than a Cirrus!

FWIW - Talking to other pilots of SR-20’s it sounds like the transpoder is actually been the source of problems for far too many of you.

MR N84MR - care to answer Walt?

I might suggest Santa Paula. It is farther south which may cause problems for you notherners. They have a nice restaurant, nice airport. Fuel 2.67 per AIRNAV. (BTW Corona is 2.20)

RE: SBA fly in … the coming months look good for another fly in (attempt). Kevin is good at the logistics and hopefully the next one will actually have some people show up in other than a Plymouth Valiant!