Parachute vs stall

I was reading the SR20 POH. It indicates the descent rate with the parachute deployed is 1600 to 1800 feet per minute. I was also reading the Columbia 300 description. According to Lancair the full stall descent of the Columbia 300 is 900 feet per minute. If I am reading this correctly then lose of power in IMC in the mountains is safer in the Columbia 300 (as long as the wings don’t fall off) than the SR20. Am I missing something?

Art,

You are missing the most critical piece of this: The wing, fully stalled (and flown PERFECTLY), is still moving forward at more than 60knts. With the parachute, you carry only the vertical piece (plus any wind). I’m not a physics expert but the total amount of energy unload would be very, very high with your “stalled wing” theory.

I’ll take the chute any day!

Chris SR22 #95

I was reading the SR20 POH. It indicates the descent rate with the parachute deployed is 1600 to 1800 feet per minute. I was also reading the Columbia 300 description. According to Lancair the full stall descent of the Columbia 300 is 900 feet per minute. If I am reading this correctly then lose of power in IMC in the mountains is safer in the Columbia 300 (as long as the wings don’t fall off) than the SR20. Am I missing something?

As long as you don’t mind smacking those mountains with probably 40-60(?) knots of forward velocity (depending on flaps) in addition to the 900 fpm vertical. A rudder-controlled full stall (as opposed to a flat spin or some other unusual attitude) simply means that you have exceeded the critical angle of attack, not that you have come to a stop in the air. Descent on the Cirrus parachute system, in contrast, will have a forward velocity imparted by the prevailing winds, which unless you are flying in a hurricane will probably be less than 40 knots, and might be only a few knots. IMHO

Phil