Manifold Pressure and OAT

Hello to everyone,

I am a quite inexperienced Pilot. I only have about 200 hours at the age of 19. And I just startet my initial training in the SR22, its a great aircraft. After I got all the manuals read, I stumbled again and again over there performance chart. As we all now the SR22 has a combined Prop and power lever. Till a certain point she is increasing the RPM, thereafter holding 2500 RPM and at a specific position (always the same).
When we now look at the Performance Chart, you can see that the manifold Pressure is always the same at full power for different OAT´s. As I understood that actually can’t be possible, because with rising temperatures the density altitude increases. Therefor “less” air is going trough the manifold. So, the pressure (MP) has to be lower. In addition the engine is producing less power in higher altitudes (pressure and density), therefore it’s “pulling” less. I’m very interested in your answer and ideas. And very grateful for any help.

Hi Paul.

great question. Here’s a good way to think about it:

The throttle (black knob) controls manifold pressure.

The prop governor (blue knob in other planes) controls rpm by adjusting the pitch of the prop.

With the Cirrus linked controls, peak throttle occurs when the prop reaches 2500 rpm, pushing the “throttle “ up further, only increases rpm after that.

You are correct about decreasing air density impacting engine and aircraft performance negatively.

Note that the performance chart you posted is for a constant pressure altitude of 2000ft.

Air density decreases with increasing pressure altitude and increasing temperature.