Lancair 300 comparison

I am a young pilot trying to compare a Lancair Cloumbia 300 to an SR-22.
Does anyone have any real world experience to share or advice?

If you search this forum’s archives you will find several threads of discussions about this. They are both excellent aircraft and either would be a good choice. Some contrasts:

Speed: Columbia by about 10 kt

Payload with full fuel: SR22 wins here; its full-fuel payload is about like a 182 (i.e. you can either fill the seats or take along 2 passengers and all the bags you can cram in).

Range: Columbia has 100 gal vs 80 for the SR22. So if you don’t care about payload, Columbia wins here.

CG envelope: Cirri are pilot-friendly so long as you put heavier folks up front. Not sure about the current production Columbias, but Aviation Consumer in their article about the Columbia a couple of years ago remarked that it had a tendency towards aft CG issues.

Comfort: SR22 has a roomier cabin and is MUCH easier to enter and disembark from the front seats

Safety: flight characteristics, stall/spin resistance are probably similar. The SR22 has an airframe parachute but the Columbia does not.

Panel: SR22 has garmin 430s, more user-friendly and flexible than the UPSAT stuff in the Columbia. On the other hand the Columbia has more flexible MFD options and more panel space for add-ons, like an engine monitor.

Price: I believe the SR22 wins here although I have not kept close tabs on Columbia’s latest price.

Factory support: Cirrus seems to be well on their way to earning an excellent reputation here. Too early to say about COlumbia as they have not delivered more than a couple dozen planes yet.

My 2 cents. I would choose (and have chosen) Cirrus, but other pilots of sound mind and sober judgment have elected to buy Columbia 300s. Variety and competition are good things!