Comparison SR22 & Columbia 300

I am considering making a deposit on one of the above. I assume a number of people in the forum have done careful comparison. What are the reasons you chose the Cirus over the Lancair.

Thanks,

Charlie

I am considering making a deposit on one of the above. I assume a number of people in the forum have done careful comparison. What are the reasons you chose the Cirus over the Lancair.

Thanks,

Charlie

I’ll give you two good reasons. First of all, I’m a former Navy pilot (3,000 hours A-4s & A-6s 350 traps). There’s nothing more reassuring than having that one extra option; you may never need it but it’s nice to know it’s there. I plan on hauling friends and family all over the place and the CAPS system gives a bit more confidence to a lot of people who aren’t so sure about little planes. Secondly, I read the Cirrus business plan and I believe they will be here for years to come. They appear to be doing everything right. I’m not sure that Lancair will be here in five years. I don’t see the backlog needed to support the investment they made.

By the way, I’m #280 - first time I’ve ever participated in the Forum - and I upgraded to the SR22.

Call Sign “Bagger”

Bagger hit the nail on the head. Commercial planes usually have redundant systems like engines, hydraulics, electronics and multiple pilots thus giving them a safe “out” in most situations. Even single engine jet fighters have multiple systems and the ultimate “out” of a bad situation, the ejection seat. Until now single engine GA pilots had few options if the pilot, airframe or the engine gave up the ghost, especailly over inhospitable terrain.

Cirrus has changed that with The CAPS and many safety oriented design ideas they incorporated in the SR20/22.

I hope the CAPS system is never put to use but I know I will fly my family with more confidence knowing it is there. BRS forever!