DA40-180 Question

I realize this is a forum for the SR20…BUT…I enjoy reading the posts on this site so I have a question. I’m probably going to be ordering the new Diamond Star DA40-180 in the next couple of weeks. I’m a low time pilot (about 130 hours) but I do have my instrument rating. I can’t decide if I should spend $24,900 for the autopilot KAP-140/King HSI. As far as money, I can come up with it but I am by no means loaded. I will be flying about 250 hours/year, short and long trips. When I resell the plane someday, how much of this cost should I expect to recoup? I’ve never actually used an autopilot or an HSI in practise before. Thanks for any info!!

I almost purchased the DA40, but finally ruled it out last May when they told me they weren’t delivering any planes this year with the autopilot. It is a great plane to fly (feels like the Katana), the factory people are very nice, and is very efficient.

But, to have that fantastic IFR-capable plane without an Autopilot was a non-starter for me. I’d think it’d have a big impact on resale.

So, today I picked up my SR-22. Yee Ha!!!

-Curt Sanford in Duluth

Get the autopilot if you are planning on flying any significant IFR. Better yet, if you are truly concerned about resell value, you might consider a Cirrus…

Mark

I realize this is a forum for the SR20…BUT…I enjoy reading the posts on this site so I have a question. I’m probably going to be ordering the new Diamond Star DA40-180 in the next couple of weeks. I’m a low time pilot (about 130 hours) but I do have my instrument rating. I can’t decide if I should spend $24,900 for the autopilot KAP-140/King HSI. As far as money, I can come up with it but I am by no means loaded. I will be flying about 250 hours/year, short and long trips. When I resell the plane someday, how much of this cost should I expect to recoup? I’ve never actually used an autopilot or an HSI in practise before. Thanks for any info!!