Can anyone help my dream come true...

Many years ago I was an aspiring student pilot but like so many I ran out of money before I could finish my private. Now that I have the money I doubt that I could pass the medical due to a bladder cancer diagnosis. I am not sure if that really is the case and can’t find anything on the FAA site about it. If any of you have experience with getting a medical after a cancer diagnosis please feel free to chime in on this as well.

Ever since I first read about the Cirrus it has been my dream to go for a flight in one to see if it really is as amazing as it looks in the magazines. I know that this is asking a lot but if anyone is ever in the Mattoon, IL (KMTO) area and would be willing to give me a ride I would appreciate it. Doesn’t have to be a long ride but I would really like to see what I am missing and maybe it will encourage me to investigate getting my medical again (if possible)

Thanks, and happy flying.

Brad

Brad,

If you ever come to California let me know. I can take you up.

I am sure someone from IL will chime in…

Good luck

Alex

Brad,

Would love too, but sold our SR22T one year ago… And indeed, to fly it, was a dream come true!

Brad. AOPA has a medical line that can give you a lot of answers. An experienced AME can provide insights informally as well. Best of luck. I am confident you will find at least one ride on this forum. Unfortunately I will be working on getting my own medical back over the coming months. Otherwise I would offer a ride if you are ever in this neck of the woods.

It really is amazing how the flying community works. I ask a couple simple questions and have already had an offer of a flight in a Cirrus and some good advise on the medical. Thanks to everyone.

It is the flying community in general, but it is COPA in particular. You should join. You would be amazed.

Brad,