Avidyne Pricing

In the January 2002 Cirrus Update, they gave pricing information for the Avidyne EX3000C @ $1K and EX5000C @ $3950 above current contract price. The difference between the two is that the EX5000C will accept information from other sources (GPS, etc.) through the ARINC 429 data format, while the EX3000C uses the traditional RS 232 line.

Ian has stated that this format is the “higher end” interface of choice for avionics suppliers. Although I am an electronics engineer (analog), I don’t have any experience with ARINC 429. Any opinions out there as to whether this is worth an extra $3K?

Thanks,

Walt N224AZ

My understanding is that ARINC 429 is a richer format and allows the depiction of curved courses such as DME arcs and holds. ARINC 429 support is also required to depict SkyWatch information on the MFD.

I am seriously considering replacing the ICDS2000 in my SR22 when Avidyne adds the promised engine monitoring system. I have Skywatch installed and want traffic information displayed on the MFD.

The Arnav unit is unable to display Skywatch alerts. With the present installation, when Skywatch issues a traffic alert it displays as a “must clear” page over both GNS 430 displays. This is redundant, annoying and suboptimal. The right place to put traffic alert information(and curved approach courses) is the big MFD just to the right of the normal scan.

George

Post deleted by Bill_Dobson

Thanks for the input that builds on Ian’s comments. T big screen with the contoured “map” should definitly help with situational awareness.

After re-reading the update, I’m confused. I will call Cirrus Monday, since it’s not clear if the EX3000C is even available for the SR22. It seems that for the SR22 it’s a choice of staying with the ARNAV (which Cirrus will no longer offer for new sales) or the EX5000C for an additional $3950.

Walt N224AZ