Air Chart System

Does anyone have experience with the Air Chart System compared to Jep? There seems to be quite a difference in price. Is the service not as good or is that Jep thinks their data is more valuable? Is AIR Chart’s system hard to manage? Any overall impression would be helpful.

Thanks,

Paul

Paul,

See Art Pileggi’s comments about the http://www.avweb.com/sponsors/airchart/Air Chart System from last November (click hereclick here).

Cheers,
Roger

I have a Jepp subscription for the North East where I do most of my flying. I was fed up with the hassle of updating every two weeks, so I decided to try Air Charts for the trip home from Duluth to Virginia. I am still debating whether to switch to Air Charts completely when my Jepp subscription runs out.

The big advantage for Air Charts in addition to lower cost is the very simple update system; just file the one or two update sheets with you charts each month and before a flight check for changes on the charts and approach plates that you will actually be using. Once you have the enroute chart binder, which covers the whole US, you can pick up NOS approach plates for a specific trip outside your subscription area. If there are major changes in approach plates, you can download the new plates with a PIN that comes with your subscription. Basically you never have to touch all the changes for frequencies, taxiways, or procedures for places you never go, but you have them if you need them. The update sheets are cumulative, so you just toss the old one and put the new one with your charts.

The Jepp advantage is in the level of detail on the charts. If you started with NOS charts this not an issue as Air Charts are essentially just the NOS plates and a repackaging of NOS enroute charts into a spiral binder. It would be nice if you could get Jepps with the Air Chart packaging and update system. As NOS converts to a more Jepp like format for approach plates, the case for Air Charts should become better.